Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Author Spotlight- Mary Kennedy

Happy Wednesday!  I am delighted to be spotlighting the Lovely Mary Kennedy!! Mary has a Brand New Series coming out on September 2, 2014 it's called Nightmares Can be Murder!! You don't want to miss this series!!






I'm very happy that NIGHTMARES CAN BE MURDER, the first in the new Dream Club Mysteries is available for pre-order right now!! Release date is September 2, 2014. Want the inside scoop on Nightmares? Business consultant Taylor Blake has returned to Savannah, Georgia, to help her sister Allison turn her dream of running an old-fashioned candy store into a reality. Allison is also interested in dream interpretation and invites Taylor to her Friday night Dream Club, where members meet once a week to share and analyze their dreams.
When a local dance instructor, Chico Hernandez, is found dead in his studio, and the murder scene has an eerie resemblance to one of the dreams shared at their meeting, Taylor can't help but be intrigued. And when her sister, who was briefly involved with the dance teacher, becomes the prime suspect, Taylor and their fellow club members can't be caught napping. It's up to them to dream up a solution to the murder before Allison faces a real-life nightmare
I wrote a little companion guide to the series called DREAM INTERPRETATION, a psychologist's guide, that you might find helpful.What are your dreams trying to tell you? Do you ever dream of being stranded in a strange city in the dead of night, along and afraid? Do you dream of wandering through a beautiful house and discovering hidden rooms filled with treasures? Do you ever dream of loved ones who have passed? Dreams are our passport to our unconscious mind and this brief guide will help you unlock their secrets.
Hope you will visit me at www.marykennedy.net and see what other exciting projects are going on. I'm re-printing my Penguin teen novels with new covers and new titles, GOLDEN GIRL, SECRETS and MOVIE STAR and they'll be up soon. Love to hear from my readers, you can find me on FB, Twitter and LinkedIn. And I blog on The Cozy Chicks (a group of 7 cozy mystery writers) every Saturday. www.cozychicks.com. Happy reading! Mary Kennedy

You can pre-order Nightmares can be Murder here:


Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Blog Tour - Undertaking Irene by Pamela Burford

I'm so glad to be part of this tour. Pamela Burford's new book Undertaking Irene is a hoot!


undertaking irene large banner 640

Undertaking Irene
by Pamela Burford

Interesting characters, Interesting romances…
~readalot
…quite a humorous book!
~Storeybook Reviews
There are so many things I liked about this book. Quirky characters, an intriguing mystery, and snappy dialogue all drew me in to this story.
~Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book

undertaking-ireneUNDERTAKING IRENE by Pamela Burford
Cozy Mystery – 250 Pages

Synopsis
Jane Delaney does things her paying customers can’t do, don’t want to do, don’t want to be seen doing, can’t bring themselves to do, and/or don’t want it to be known they’d paid someone to do. To dead people. Life gets complicated for Jane and her Death Diva business when she’s hired to liberate a gaudy mermaid brooch from the corpse during a wake. Well, a girl’s got to make a living, and this assignment pays better than scattering ashes, placing flowers on graves, or bawling her eyes out as a hired mourner. Unfortunately for Jane, someone else is just as eager to get his hands on that brooch, and he’s even sneakier than she is. Just when she thinks her biggest problem is grand theft mermaid, things take a murderous turn. But hey, when you’ve teamed up with a neurotic seven-pound poodle named Sexy Beast, how can you lose?

My Review:
Witty  characters, humorous story line and a plot so fun you won't want to stop reading this book! Jane Delaney's job is anything but normal. She gets hired to retrieve things off dead people. I loved this book it's laugh out loud funny and will make people wonder what you are reading!! 

pam-burfordAbout This Author
Pamela Burford is the best-selling author of 15 works of mystery, contemporary romance, and romantic suspense. She has received four RITA and Romantic Times Reviewers Choice Award nominations and is a frequent speaker at writers’ conferences and workshops. Her books have sold millions of copies, received outstanding reviews, and been translated into more than a dozen languages. Pamela is the founder and past president of Long Island Romance Writers, a chapter of Romance Writers of America. Fun fact: her twin sister Patricia Ryan, a.k.a. P.B. Ryan, is also a published novelist
Author Links 

Monday, August 25, 2014

Blog Tour- Kathi Daily

Kathi Daley is here getting us ready for Halloween! I love Autumn and Halloween is one of my favorite times of year! Her newest book Haunted Hamlet came out on July 31st!  Kathy is also giving away a copy of the book and this fabulous mug to enjoy your coffee or tea in !!


Aren't  they great! They could be yours!!




Haunted Hamlet Description
When a ghost hunter is found dead in a haunted house just days before Halloween it looks like the killer may be living impaired. Zoe must juggle the annual Zoe Donovan Spooktacular with zombies on the run, the annual pumpkin carving contest, a haunted hayride, a relationship in crisis, and a little behind the scenes investigation

Excerpt Haunted Hamlet

Halloween is my favorite holiday. I know most people don’t really get my obsession with all things spooky, but I love everything about this awesome time of year. I love the decorations, the annual events, horror movies on TV, personalized pumpkins, and finding the scariest costume of all. But it’s not just the awesomeness of the holiday that I love, it’s the coziness of the season. The romance of that first wood fire, hot cider with good friends, hiking through groves of aspens dressed in fall colors, and the scent of snow just around the corner.
“I’m thinking witch.” My best friend, Ellie Davis, held up a mask with a huge wart on the nose. She’d been sort of down all week, so I was happy to see her enthusiasm for the pre-holiday shopping trip.
I frowned. “Weren’t you a witch last year?”
“And the ten years before that,” the third member of our triad, Levi Denton, added.
Ellie shrugged. “It’s what I do. Every year: witch.”
“Doesn’t that seem a little boring?” I wondered.
“I think the word you’re searching for is consistent.” Ellie smiled.
“Come on, El, you need to make a little effort for the tenth annual Zoe Donovan Halloween Spooktacular,” Levi persuaded.
“Technically we missed last year, so this is only the ninth annual Spooktacular,” Ellie pointed out.
Ellie was right. Normally, I have a party every year, but last year my plans were interrupted by the discovery of a dead football coach in the basement of a real haunted house. The same haunted house, I hate to say, that the Ashton Falls Events Committee voted to use as a venue for this year’s Haunted Hamlet.
“Okay, then don’t you want to make more of an effort for the ninth annual Spooktacular?” Levi corrected himself.
“Fine.” Ellie sighed.
“How about this?” Levi held up a cat costume that was little more than a black unitard with ears and a tail.
“In your dreams.” Ellie laughed. “I’m pretty sure that outfit will leave nothing to the imagination, and personally, I like to maintain just a bit of mystery.”
“Come on; it’s an awesome costume,” Levi insisted.
“Then you wear it.” Ellie grinned as she poked her index finger into his chest.
“It would show off my boyish figure,” Levi teased as he jokingly held it up in front of his sculpted frame. “I have to admit I’m looking quite svelte since I’ve been putting in extra time at the gym so that I can keep up with Darla.”
“Oh please.” Ellie rolled her eyes. I knew that Levi’s new girlfriend was a sore subject with the woman who had suffered the agony of falling in love with a man she would never have.
“Have you seen where they keep the pus?” I asked in an attempt to change the subject and break the tension.
“Pus? Really?” Ellie put her hands on her hips in disgust. “This is the first big party you and Zak have thrown as a couple. Don’t you think you should go for something other than oozing wounds and external entrails?”
“It’s Halloween,” I pointed out. “Zak will expect pus.”
I decided to get into the long line while Zak finished gathering his supplies. At the rate the line was moving, it would be breakfast before it was our turn to check out. As I looked around at the
overstimulated children running up and down the aisles, I thought fondly of my own Halloweens as a child. My dad always dressed up in a gory costume when he took me trick-or-treating. Some years Ellie and Levi would come with us, but there were a few years when it was just the two of us running from house to house so that I could hit as many as possible in the hours between 6 and 9 p.m.
I was nearing the front of the line, so I was looking around the store for Zak when I noticed a man wearing a dark overcoat and a fedora. His attire seemed odd for this decade, so I couldn’t help but watch as he walked slowly up and down each aisle without stopping to look at anything in particular. If I had to guess, he was looking for someone rather than something.
“Do you see that guy in the overcoat?” I asked as Zak walked up beside me. I tried not to cringe as Zak pushed the two heaping carts of Halloween decorations into line. Ellie was right: At the rate Zak was going, our house was going to look like a magical theme park ride.
“The guy walking around aimlessly?” Zak clarified.
“Yeah. He’s acting strange. Do you recognize him?”
“No. He doesn’t look familiar. Maybe he’s a visitor?”
“Maybe. It’s just that my Zodar is tingling.”
Now that I’d solved a total of eight murders in the past year, my friends had started teasing me about having some sort of Zoe Radar—or Zodar for short—when it came to both murder victims and murder suspects. I had to wonder which I was sensing.
“Maybe your Zodar is on the fritz. No one is dead,” Zak pointed out.
“Yet,” I replied.


My Review:
It's October and Halloween is coming up. Zoe and her friends are at it again. Getting ready for Halloween and all the festivities that will be taking place. But when Adams body is found in the Henderson House it puts a new spin on their planning. Zoe is determined to stay out of the way and the investigation but she just can't help herself and finds herself right in the middle. She has to find out what happened and who did it before the Haunted House really becomes haunted! What a fantastic read for the season you will be drawn into the story instantly and if you love Halloween and all things fall than this is a book you will want to read!

Kathi's books:

Books by Kathi Daley
Come for the murder, stay for the romance.

Paradise Lake Series:
Pumpkins in Paradise
Snowmen in Paradise
Bikinis in Paradise
Christmas in Paradise – September 2014

Zoe Donovan Mysteries:
Halloween Hijinks
The Trouble With Turkeys
Christmas Crazy
Cupid’s Curse
Big Bunny Bump-off
Beach Blanket Barbie
Maui Madness
Derby Divas
Haunted Hamlet
Turkeys, Tuxes, and Tabbies – October 2014
Christmas Cozy – November 2014

Road to Christmas Romance:
Road to Christmas Past


Bio:
Kathi Daley lives with her husband, kids, grandkids, and Bernese mountain dogs in beautiful Lake Tahoe. When she isn’t writing, she likes to read (preferably at the beach or by the fire), cook (preferably something with chocolate or cheese), and garden (planting and planning, not weeding). She also enjoys spending time on the water when she’s not hiking, biking, or snowshoeing the miles of desolate trails surrounding her home.

Kathi uses the mountain setting in which she lives, along with the animals (wild and domestic) that share her home, as inspiration for her cozy mysteries.

Stay up to date with her newsletter, The Daley Weekly. There’s a link to sign up on both her Facebook page and her website, or you can access the sign-in sheet at:  http://eepurl.com/NRPDf

Visit Kathi:
Facebook at Kathi Daley Books, www.facebook.com/kathidaleybooks
Twitter at Kathi Daley@kathidaley
Webpage www.kathidaley.com
E-mail kathidaley@kathidaley.com






Sunday, August 24, 2014

Weekly Wrap Up #33

Here is what Happened this week:

Aug 22nd- Friday 56

Books I've read:

Haunted Hamlet by Kathi Daley
Undertaking Irene  by Pamela Burford

Coming this week:

Aug 25th- Kathi Daley- Haunted Hamlet
Aug 26th- Blog Tour- Undertaking Irene
Aug 27th- Author Spotlight- Mary Kennedy
Aug 28th- First in a New Series- On What Grounds by Cleo Coyle
Aug 29th- Clea Simon Interview and book review
Aug 30th- Book Trivia- Sue Ann Jaffarian

Hope to see you here!! 




Saturday, August 23, 2014

Book Trivia hosted by Mary Anne Edwards

Today's book trivia is hosted by the Delightful Mary Anne Edwards!! Mary is giving a ebook of Brilliant Disguise  to anyone who comments and a Signed paper copy of Brilliant Disguise  to one lucky winner!



Here we go! Good Luck!!



1. Where is Charlie McClung from?  
2 How Marian's husband die? 
3. What is the name of Joan's restaurant ? 
4. Where does Marian volunteer? 




Have fun and don't forget to leave your email too!!!



Friday, August 22, 2014

Friday 56

Happy Happy Friday!




This Friday 56 is hosted by Freda's Voice







"Because I was feeling slightly guilty I'd brought up his mama. I said, " I heard Nelson had a girlfriend.Not sure if it's true.
Who?
Don't know who.
Who'd you hear it from?



You won't want to miss what happens next!!

Thursday, August 21, 2014

First in a New Series


Happy Thursday to you! It's time for a brand new series!! Penny Pike(a.k.a. Penny Warner) has a great book out! Thank you Penny for giving us another fantastic book to read!

Death of a Crabby Cook: A Food Festival Mystery

Book Description

 August 5, 2014
First in a new series!



At the San Francisco Seafood Festival, someone is steamed enough to kill a cook.... 



When restaurant reviewer Darcy Burnett gets served a pink slip from the San Francisco Chronicle, she needs to come up with an alternative recipe for success quickly. Her feisty aunt Abby owns a tricked-out school bus, which she’s converted into a hip and happening food truck, and Darcy comes aboard as a part-timer while she develops a cookbook project based on recipes from food fests in the Bay Area.



But she soon finds someone’s been trafficking in character assassination—literally—when a local chef turns up dead and her aunt is framed for the murder. The restaurant chef was an outspoken enemy of food trucks, and now Darcy wonders if one of the other vendors did him in. With her aunt’s business—and freedom—on the line, it’s up to Darcy to steer the murder investigation in the right direction and put the brakes on an out-of-control killer….



RECIPES INCLUDED! 


If you haven't gotten this book yet, you can get it right here: