Thursday, November 27, 2014

First in a New Series- The Big Kitty

Happy Thanksgiving! It's another great first, this one debuted in May of 2012. The Big Kitty by Claire Donnally! Cat lovers will enjoy this one.


Book Description

 May 1, 2012
Did curiosity kill the cat lady?
 
Sunny Coolidge left her New York City newspaper job to go back to Maine and take care of her ailing father. But there’s not much excitement—or interesting work—in Kittery Harbor. So when Ada Spruance, the town’s elderly cat lady, asks for help finding her supposedly-winning lottery ticket, Sunny agrees. But when she arrives at Ada’s, with a stray tomcat named Shadow tagging along, they discover the poor woman dead at the bottom of her stairs. Was it an accident—or did Ada’s death have to do with that missing lottery ticket, which turns out to be worth six million dollars?
 
Town Constable Will Price suspects the worst. And Sunny’s reporter instincts soon drive her to do some investigating of her own. Even Shadow seems to have a nose for detective work. Following the trail of the purrloined ticket, Sunny and Shadow try to shed some light on a killer’s dark motives—before their own numbers are up… 

This is a perfect start to a great series: get it here:




Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Author Spotlight- Leslie Meier

I love the Lucy Stone  Series by Leslie Meier! They are fun and witty and have some really great recipes to try in each book!The titles are awesome and the covers for each book are great.



Leslie Meier


I started writing in the late '80s when I was attending graduate classes at Bridgewater State College. I wanted to become certified to teach high school English and one of the required courses was Writing and the Teaching of Writing. My professor suggested that one of the papers I wrote for that course was good enough to be published and I sent it off to Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine's Department of First Stories. I got $100 for the story and I've been writing ever since. The teaching, however, didn't work out.

My books draw heavily on my experience as a mother of three and my work as a reporter for various weekly newspspers on Cape Cod. My heroine, Lucy Stone, is a reporter in the fictional town of Tinker's Cove, Maine, where she lives in an old farmhouse (quite similar to mine on Cape Cod!) with her restoration carpenter husband Bill and four children. As the series has progressed the kids have grown older, roughly paralleling my own family. We seem to have reached a point beyond which Lucy cannot age -- my editor seems to want her to remain forty-something forever -- though I have to admit I am dying to write "Menopause is Murder"!

I usually write one Lucy Stone mystery every year and as you can see, my editor likes me to feature the holidays in my books.Of course Christmas is one of my favorite times of year and my newest mystery{released September 2013} is called "Christmas Carol Murder.".I have always loved the Alistair Sims movie version of Charles Dicken's ,"The Christmas Carol",so I was excited to be able to have Lucy encounter some modern day versions of Dicken's classic characters.
In addition to the recent holiday mysteries I have written such as "Chocolate Covered Murder"{Valentine's Day}and "Easter Bunny Murder",I have written one travel mystery in which Lucy and her friends ,travel to London,"English Tea Murder".Since I love to travel I can only hope that Lucy will be able to solve some mysteries in some other cities and countries also.My husband and I did stay in an apartment in Paris this past year {big hint!}
My books are classified as cozies but a good friend insists they are really "comedies of manners" and I do enjoy expressing my view of contemporary American life.

Now that the kids are grown -- I now have four grandchildren -- my husband and I are enjoying our empty nest on Cape Cod which we share with our new very frisky kitty ,Sylvester.I am busy writing the next Lucy Stone Mystery which is due out this Spring.I do hope you will enjoy it!

All of her books can be found on Amazon and Barnes and Noble too!

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

What a fantastic group of books! If you haven't read these yet, get them today!


Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Murder the Tey Way by Marilyn Levinson

I am delighted to have with us today the Lovely Marilyn Levinson, Her new book Murder the Tey Way was released on October 17, 2014 and it is really good. Welcome Marilyn , so happy to be part of your tour.
murder the tey way   large banner640

Murder the Tey Way
by Marilyn Levinson

murder_tey_way_cover
Murder the Tey Way
by Marilyn Levinson
  • Cozy Mystery – 300 pages
The sequel to Murder a la Christie. The book will be out in mid-October!!
Synopsis:
Professor Lexie Driscoll is leading a Golden Age of Mystery book club discussion of Josephine Tey’s novels, when her sister arrives in a state of agitation. The sisters aren’t close, and Lexie wonders why Gayle has driven from Utah to Long Island to stay with her. The following morning, Gayle awakens Lexie to say there’s a dead man lying in her backyard. Gayle confesses she’s on the run because she witnessed a murder and the murderer is out to get her. Gayle takes off after begging Lexie not to tell the police she’s been there. This presents a problem because Lexie’s boyfriend, homicide detective Brian Donovan, is initially put in charge of the investigation. The murder victim turns out to be a minor criminal suspected of having burgled several homes in the area. Lexie wonders if her sister killed the man, believing he was sent to kill her.
Lexie and her friend Joy Lincoln, a former FBI agent and now a stay-at-home mom, soon discover that all of the book club members either have secrets or are in situations involving the wrong side of the law. An older couple, Marge and Evan Billings, are at the mercy of the criminals they’ve hired to extricate their young granddaughter from Peru. Tim Draigon has lost his attorney’s license for illegal activities. He and Sadie Lu, a guidance counselor, owe money and have borrowed large sums from money lenders connected to the murdered man. Lexie’s neighbors, the Roberts sisters, are strange birds. Corinne dominates her slow sister, Felicity, and berates Lexie whenever she comes to Felicity’s aid. And who is this Johnny Scarvino Felicity fears? Another club member is murdered, one is knocked unconscious, and old and new secrets impact the lives of the members of the book club. Lexie must find the murderer before more lives are destroyed.
My review:
Lexie and the book club ladies are back and better than ever in this installment of the Golden Age of Mystery series. This was such a great book I couldn't put it down. When Lexie's sister finds a dead man in her backyard things take a turn that Lexie didn't want. Her sister Gayle doesn't want the police to know she is there and Lexie has to find out what is going on before they both find themselves in jail. The characters are strong and the story line is so intense and captivating you will not want to stop reading! This is one whodunit that will have you up late and wanting more.

marilyn
About This Author
 A former Spanish teacher, Marilyn Levinson writes mysteries, romantic suspense, and books for kids.
Her latest mystery, Murder a la Christie, is out with Oak Tree Press. Untreed Reads has brought out new e-editions of her Twin Lakes mysteries: A Murderer Among Us, awarded a Suspense Magazine Best Indie, and Murder in the Air. Uncial Press e-publishes her ghost mystery, Giving Up the Ghost, and her romantic suspense, Dangerous Relations. All of Marilyn’s mysteries take place on Long Island, where she lives.
Her books for young readers include No Boys Allowed; Rufus and Magic Run Amok, which was awarded a Children’s Choice; Getting Back to Normal, & And Don’t Bring Jeremy.
Marilyn loves traveling, reading, knitting, doing Sudoku, and visiting with her granddaughter, Olivia, on FaceTime. She is co-founder and past president of the Long Island chapter of Sisters in Crime.
 Author Links
Blog: Makeminemystery the first and third Monday of every month.
http://makeminemystery.blogspot.com/
Purchase Links:
Amazon  B&N

Monday, November 24, 2014

Guest Post- Joni Sauer- Folger

I am so thrilled to have the lovely Joni Sauer Folger joining us today! Welcome Joni, hope everything is well with you.
Joni Sauer-Folger


Autumn - My Favorite Time of Year

Howdy, y’all! My name is Abigail DeVries, Miss Abby to just about everyone in Bastrop County, Texas, where my daughter, Laura Beckett owns River Bend Vineyard & Winery. The vineyard is definitely a family affair. My oldest grandchild, Ross, is the financial wizard who keeps us in the black. His younger sister Elise is a horticulturist and in charge of production, with Madison—the baby of the family—being the driving force behind Lodge Merlot, the event facility on the property. And me? I run the family, as well as the Wine Barrel, the vineyard’s retail sales outlet.

This last year has seen its share of trials for our family. In late summer, Laura’s brother-in-law Edmond was murdered on vineyard property, and every single one of us was a suspect for a time. It was a tense few weeks until Deputy Jackson Landry could make an arrest. Jax is near and dear to my heart, as I practically raised him, so it was especially difficult for all of us. He had to be very careful not to treat the family any differently during the investigation.

Then just when we thought we were in the clear, two months later we landed smack-dab in another murder investigation at the Lost Pines Food & Wine Festival, of which River Bend had been a sponsor. Yours truly ended up in the suspect pool, yet again! But, hopefully, all that nasty business is behind us, especially now that we’re coming into the holiday season.

For my part, I’m in love with autumn. It’s my favorite time of year, and Halloween is my absolute favorite holiday. The fun and frivolity of carving pumpkins, decorating the house, and all the parties, parties, parties! We even have an afternoon of fun for trick-or-treaters at the Wine Barrel every year. I don’t know about you, but the whole thing has me giddy with anticipation starting around the end of September. Then, once the excitement of All Hallows Eve has passed, we move on to briefly celebrating the blessing of family and friends with Thanksgiving, before steaming full-throttle to our December holiday of choice.

My family celebrates Christmas, and where I love the festive adornments, pageantry, and celebrations that go with it, I can’t help but feel saddened by the fact that poor Thanksgiving, stuck in the middle, seems to get the short end of the stick. In stores, the minute the Halloween candy and costumes are torn through and left behind, the commercialization of Christmas begins.  For the love of mud, where on earth does Thanksgiving fit in?

Down on the vineyard, in our neck of the woods, we take family very seriously…even our black sheep are included. After all, family is family. I’ve tried to make sure that my daughter, grandchildren, and extended family members break bread together every Sunday afternoon. Family fellowship is extremely important to me, and I’ve instilled that in each and every one of them. That’s why this November; I’m making sure that we have a Thanksgiving celebration to remember. I’m goin’ all out. Seems like I’ve invited half of Bastrop County, but that’s just fine.
So, my wish for you and yours is hold each other close, enjoy each other, and be very, very grateful. And if you don’t have a place to celebrate Thanksgiving, or family to celebrate
with, you can always come by the vineyard. It’s no bother at all, and we can always put out another place setting at the table.

Happy Thanksgiving, y’all!

Joni Sauer-Folger



Meet the Author:

A native of Oregon, I spent twenty-two years with an airline traveling and moving around the country before settling down near the beautiful Pacific Ocean with my very spoiled cats.

I was lucky enough to find an outlet for my creativity and healthy imagination the moment I stepped out onto my first theater stage. After 20 years of theater, I still enjoy performing, but it doesn’t hold a candle to creating my own worlds and characters on a blank page.

When I’m not spending quality time with the characters I create, I enjoy gardening (though not always as diligent with the flower beds as I should be –damn weeds), crafting (never enough time in the day), and working in local theater (did I mention not having enough time?)

Oh, and I have a terrible shoe fetish. In my opinion, one can never have too many fabulous shoes…


Of Merlot & Murder (A Tangled Vines Mystery) Grapes of Death (A Tangled Vines Mystery)





Joni Sauer-Folger
IMMORTAL OBSESSION, AN IMMORTAL PROPHECY SERIES NOVEL - October 2014
IMMORTAL RECKONING, AN IMMORTAL PROPHECY SERIES SHORT STORY - July 2014
OF MERLOT & MURDER, A TANGLED VINES MYSTERY - Midnight Ink September 2014
GRAPES OF DEATH, A TANGLED VINES MYSTERY - Midnight Ink September 2013

*Life is short. Break the rules, forgive quickly, kiss slowly, love truly, laugh uncontrollably, and never regret anything that makes you smile




Sunday, November 23, 2014

Weekly Wrap Up # 46

Happy Sunday to you! I am so glad you visited me this week. Here is what happened.

Nov. 21st- Friday 56

Book's I've read this week:

Lethal Letters by Ellery Adams
Snow White Red- Handed by Maia Chance
Murder Plain and Simple by Isabella Alan

Coming this week:

Nov. 24th- Guest Post by Joni Sauer Floger
Nov. 25th- Book Tour- Murder the Tey Way by Marilyn Levinson
Nov. 26th- Author Spotlight- Leslie Meier
Nov. 27th- First in a New Series- The Big Kitty by Claire Donnally
Nov.28th Friday 56
Nov. 29th- Book Trivia hosted by Mary Marks

Have a great Thanksgiving to those who celebrate it! Hope to see you this week. 



Saturday, November 22, 2014

Book Trivia hosted by Tonya Kappes

It's time for trivia and today's host is the Charming Tonya Kappes!! Leave answers in the comments as well as your email. I'm so excited to have Tonya here with us today. Good Luck!! The winner will be chosen on Sunday after noon.



I’m so excited to be here and participate in BOOK TRIVIA! Shelley, thank you so much for having me. My Magical Cures Mystery Series is a USA Today bestselling series with a total of six novels thus far. On December 1st, A CHARMING CHRISTMAS, a Magical Cures Mystery Series Novella will available on all ereaders. I’m excited because this is the first time the magical village will be celebrating Christmas!
1)   What is the name of the magical village in the Magical Cures Mystery series?

2)   What is June Heal’s spiritual gift?

3)   Who is June Heal’s fiancĂ©?

4)   Where did June Heal go to college?

5)   In A Charming Secret, there is a new business in town. What is the name of the new business?

6)   In A Charming Wish, what was the genie’s name?

7)   What is June Heal’s favorite chocolaty treat?

8)   June Heal has two familiars. What are their names?

9)   How old was June Heal when her first familiar showed up on the steps of her home?
I’m excited to be giving away a signed copy of A CHARMING SECRET, Tonya Kappes Tote, and a Christmas mug to the winner!





Be sure to jump over to my author page on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/authortonyakappes?ref=hl and be looking for HOLIDAY I-SPY! I've teamed up with mystery authors Laura Bradford, Susan McBride, Lynn Cahoon, and Maggie Barbieri for a fun holiday event! 



Tonya Kappes
Southern Small Town Mysteries 


Friday, November 21, 2014

Friday 56

Happy Friday! Brand new author with a Brand new book.  Don't miss it.


 



" Is that Snow White and the Huntsman?" You know the tale then, -the Evil Queen bids the Huntsman to cut out the girls liver."
Yes, charming story. So wholesome for the little ones. " 


you can get it here: