Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Book Spotlight- The Thing Is by Kathleen Gerard

I am excited to feature Kathleen Gerard's newest book The Thing Is. Released on March 9.2016 you will want to add this to your tbr pile.







Paperback: 276 pages
Publisher: Red Adept Publishing; 1 edition (December 16, 2015)
Language: English



Meredith Mancuso is depressed. Ever since the death of her fiancĂ©, she has shrunk from the world. Even with her successful writing career, she's not motivated to work. When her sister, Monica, begs for a favor, Meredith wants nothing more than to say no. But she’s ultimately roped into pet-sitting an orphaned Yorkshire terrier named Prozac. Blessed with spiritual wisdom and a high IQ, Prozac is an active pet therapy dog.

To heal broken-hearted Meredith, he rallies his fan club at Evergreen Gardens, an independent living facility, where he visits each week. Prozac and the community of resilient older folks challenged by losses of their own propel Meredith, often against her will, back into the land of the living. Meredith learns that most people carry some sort of burden, but it's still possible to find meaning, purpose, and joy—and sometimes, even love—along the way.


This is my first book I have read from this author and I found it to be very enjoyable.The story line is touching and holds you captive. The characters are fun and at times funny and really make this story strong. Love, moving on and the strengthe to get through what life throws at you is what this story is about.You will fall in love with Prozac, Meredith's little Yorkshire. You won't want to put this book down once you start it.


About the Author

Kathleen Gerard is a writer whose work has been awarded The Perillo Prize, The Eric Hoffer Prose Award and nominated for Best New American Voices and Short Story America, all national prizes in literature. Kathleen writes across genres. Her short prose and poetry have been widely published in magazines, journals and anthologies.Her essays have been broadcast on National Public Radio (NPR). Kathleen's woman-in-jeopardy novel IN TRANSIT won The New York Book Festival - "Best Romantic Fiction" (2011). Kathleen writes for Shelf Awareness and maintains the blog, "Reading Between the Lines."

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Author Spotlight- LynDee Walker

This week's author spotlight goes to the lovely LynDee Walker. LynDee is the author of The headlines in Hugh Heels mystery series.








The official, third person bio

LynDee Walker’s award-winning journalistic work has appeared in newspapers and magazines across the nation. Her debut novel, Front Page Fatality, was nominated for the Agatha Award for Best First Novel. Cover Shot is the fifth in LynDee’s national bestselling Headlines in High Heels Mystery Series. The sixth arrives September 2016.

LynDee adores her family, her readers, and enchiladas. She often works out tricky plot points while walking off the enchiladas. She lives in Richmond, Virginia, where she is either playing with her children, working on her next novel, or admiring beautiful shoes she can’t wear.

The first person account, tangents and all

I live a blessed life.

I was raised by a very loving, super involved single mom who worked tirelessly to make our little house a home and give me everything I might have ever wanted.

Most of the time, what I wanted was a new book—often some incarnation of Nancy Drew or something with Judy Blume or Laura Ingalls Wilder on the spine. As I got older, I moved on to Agatha Christie and Stephen King.

I’ve wanted to be a writer ever since I can remember. The day the journalism teacher at my high school had someone fetch me from my freshman health class to offer me a spot on the school newspaper staff was the happiest of that entire year. It was the first step on my path to becoming a reporter. When I was a little girl, I settled on that goal because I thought Lois Lane had the coolest job ever, superhero cohort notwithstanding. As a teenager, I decided what I really wanted was to be Helen Thomas when I grew up.

I went to Washington, D.C. for a leadership program in my junior year of high school, and actually got to hear Helen speak at the National Press Club. My roommate pushed me to ask her a question. I got tongue-tied and flubbed it terribly. It was not a great moment.

I studied under some amazing journalists and professors in college, covered a speech by President Clinton, was named a Scripps-Howard Foundation scholar, and got a summer internship that became a part-time job. I landed my first two spots on finalist lists for major professional awards before I was a senior. Because of a series of articles I wrote for the campus paper that ended with our professors being paid on par with others in the region, I ended up with a namesake scholarship at my university while I was still a student there. And somewhere in there my mother decided it might be okay if I wasn’t the next Reba McEntire, because maybe I was a pretty good reporter, too.

I moved on to a job as the news editor at a paper in a farm town in north central Texas, and about a year later, I pitched the publisher a plan for a newspaper in my hometown. For several years, that paper was my baby. I also remember graduating college and getting married around that time, but it’s kind of a blur. I worked a lot. I covered the huge variety of topics that only small-town reporters do: misplaced graves, high-profile capital murder trials, serial criminals, zoning variances — my portfolio is nothing if not diverse. I thrived on it, and I’m pretty sure it came through in my work, because I won more awards.

Then I had an actual baby, and left the insane hours of the job I loved to be a full-time mommy to the baby I loved more. Years flew.

When my second child was about a year old, I had an idea — just a scene, really, that popped into my head. I blew it off at first, but it was planted firmly in my brain and pestered me until I got my laptop and started writing. Five weeks later I had a very long, messy rough draft of FRONT PAGE FATALITY.

Thousands of hours of slashing, editing, revising, and polishing ensued. Along the way, I educated myself on how traditional fiction publishing works in the 21st century. I made great writer friends who have been invaluable on many levels.

Amongst the revising and querying and learning, life happened. I had another baby, and shortly thereafter said an unexpected last goodbye to my mom. About a year after she died, I dusted off my query letter and started researching publishers again. I found a young company that looked like an excellent fit, sent a query, and held my breath. Three months and a good bit of back and forth (and more revising) later, I had my first book deal. The idea of that feels slightly surreal to this day.

I am proud to be an officer for Mystery Writers of America’s Mid-Atlantic chapter, as well as a member of Sisters in Crime, and James River Writers. I’m living my fondest dream, being at home with my monkeys and writing novels that I hope bring readers as much enjoyment as I’ve gotten out of books that I adore.

As for personal stuff — well, I’m completely head over heels for my family. I am indeed lucky to say that after two decades together, my husband is still my very best friend. My children are my light. They are funny and bright and loving and occasionally crazy-making, and I wouldn’t trade a minute of my life with them for anything.

My mom is my hero. We had the kind of closeness that is particular to only children of single mothers: she made me think my head would explode some days and made me feel like the most special girl in the world on others. I miss her every day, and I hope she’s proud of me, wherever she is. She was my biggest fan, and Nichelle and her stories wouldn’t be here without her tireless cheerleading.

What else do I love? Oh, right — food! On account of a Texas upbringing that included a real-life, honest-to-goodness Aunt Bea and a mom who knew how to use her grandmomma’s cast iron skillet, I have an affinity for southern and Mexican food that keeps me constantly working to fit into my jeans. I lost a little over 100 pounds when my oldest monkey was two, and I’ve kept 77 of it off for almost ten years, but it’s not always easy.

I’m also a fan of iced tea (but now I use Splenda instead of sugar), sangria, and coffee. I drink a borderline concerning amount of coffee.

My family transplanted to Virginia in 2006, and it’s become home. We love the trees, the seasons, and the history, and the children have opportunities to see and learn about amazing things within a short drive of our house.

As you might have guessed from the length of this bio, I also love to chat. I’m online every day, so click the social networking links at the top of the page to find me on Facebook or Twitter, and stop back by here anytime! Plus, you can always email me. I love to hear from readers.

Monday, May 23, 2016

First in Series- Front Page Fatality by LynDee Walker

Happy Monday! This week's First in Series is Front Page Fatality(A Headlines in High Heels Mystery) by LynDee Walker.






Series: A Headlines in High Heels Mystery
Paperback: 292 pages
Publisher: Henery Press; First edition (January 29, 2013)
Language: English



*** An AGATHA AWARD Nominee for BEST FIRST NOVEL ***

A CRACKLING GOOD MYSTERY...

"LynDee Walker sure knows her way around a plot twist. She kept me turning pages late into the night, following the rollercoaster adventures of her fashionably feisty heroine...smart, funny, and loaded with surprises." - Laura Levine, Author of the Jaine Austen Mystery Series

Crime reporter Nichelle Clarke's days can flip from macabre to comical with a beep of her police scanner. Then an ordinary accident story turns extraordinary when evidence goes missing, a prosecutor vanishes, and a sexy Mafia boss shows up with the headline tip of a lifetime.

As Nichelle gets closer to the truth, her story gets more dangerous. Armed with a notebook, a hunch, and her favorite stilettos, Nichelle races to splash these shady dealings across the front page before this deadline becomes her last.

Praise for FRONT PAGE FATALITY:

"Delightful, with engaging characters, a crackling good mystery, and of course, high, high heels. LynDee Walker writes with wit and intelligence and the confidence of a newsroom insider. What fun!" - Harley Jane Kozak, Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity Award-Winning Author of Dating Dead Men and Keeper of the Moon

"This is a joy to read: Nichelle is a likeable character who does put her nose into whatever seems curious to her...the book can be read in one sitting thanks to the easy and casual language the author has employed in writing the book. Highly recommended to the fans of cozy mysteries!" - Mystery Tribune

"Gives those designer shoes a workout! Nicey's adventure kept me guessing. Goes down as smooth as hot chocolate with whipped cream." - Alice Loweecey, Author of the Falcone and Driscoll Investigations

"I loved this book, Nichelle is such a strong character, able to stand up to herself no matter what. The interaction between Bob, her boss, and Nichelle is awesome and you can see how much they care for each other. My favorite part of the book was a fight scene, not going to ruin it for you, that you just have to read." - Cozy Mystery Book Reviews

Books in the Headlines in High Heels Humorous Mystery Series:
FRONT PAGE FATALITY (#1)
BURIED LEADS (#2)
DATELINE MEMPHIS (Novella following BURIED LEADS featured in HEARTACHE MOTEL)
SMALL TOWN SPIN (#3) (April 2014)

Part of the Henery Press Mystery Series Collection, if you like one, you'll probably like them all...


About the Author:

LynDee Walker’s award-winning journalistic work has appeared in newspapers and magazines across the nation. Her debut novel, Front Page Fatality, was nominated for the Agatha Award for Best First Novel. Cover Shot is the fifth in LynDee’s national bestselling Headlines in High Heels Mystery Series. The sixth arrives September 2016.

LynDee adores her family, her readers, and enchiladas. She often works out tricky plot points while walking off the enchiladas. She lives in Richmond, Virginia, where she is either playing with her children, working on her next novel, or admiring beautiful shoes she can’t wear.

http://lyndeewalker.com/


Sunday, May 22, 2016

Weekly Wrap Up # 21

It was a fun week here and lot more to come. Here is what happened this week:







May 16th- First in Series- Double Whammy by Gretchen Archer
May 17th- Author Spotlight- Gretchen Archer
May 18th- Guess The Mystery hosted by Vicki Delany
May 19th - Murder, by George by Jeanne Quigley
May 20th- What's New? The Diva Serves High Tea by Krista Davis
May 21st- Leading Ladies of Mystery with Julie Seedorf



Winner's this week are:

Double Whammy by Gretchen Archer - Deb Forbes
Guess the Mystery by Vicki Delany- Jen Scott
Murder by George by Jeanne Quigley- Doward Wilson
What's New? The Diva Serves High Tea by Krista Davis- Sherry Smith



Coming week of May 23rd:


May 23rd- First in a Series- Front Page Fatality by LynDee Walker
May 24th- Author Spotlight- LynDee Walker
May 25th- Shelley's Review- The Thing is by Kathleen Gerard
May 26th- Shelley's Review's
May 27th- What's New? Dead End Street by Sheila Connelly
May 28th- Blog Tour- The Madness of Mercury by Connie Archer
May 29th- Blog Tour- The Penderghast Puzzle Protectors by Julie Seedorf


Have a great week!

Saturday, May 21, 2016

Leading Ladies of Mystery - Jezabelle Jingle

This week's Leading Lady is Jezabelle Jingle. Don't know who she is? Jezabelle Jingle is the lady of the Penderghast Puzzle Protectors Mystery. One Lucky reader will will receive an audio copy of this book.Leave a comment and email below for a chance to win.






JEZABELLE JINGLE FROM THE PENDERGHAST PUZZLE PROTECTORS

Jingle Bells, Jingle Bells, jingle all the way. Yes, I have heard it all. I am Jezabelle Jingle and I live in Brilliant Minnesota. My name wasn't always Jezabelle Jingle. Jingle is actually a name I chose, on purpose, but my explanation has to wait for another time. I was prepared when I changed my last name to jingle for the jokes, "She jingles all the way to the bank or "Here comes Mrs. Slay Bells. Get it–slay, after all I do solve mysteries. I love my last name in spite of the jokes. It always makes people smile.

I live in the Penderghast neighborhood of Brilliant Minnesota. My neighborhood consists of Victorian houses built by the Brilliant Brothers, the founders of the community. I am the oldest person on my block and I have lived on my block the longest of any of the neighbors. I might add I am the only normal person on my block. My opinion only and let's keep that between us. I wouldn't want my neighbors to know I know things they don't know I know.

I don't have any children. I have a niece, Delight Delure. You might recognize the name because that Hermiony Vidalia Criony Fiddlestadt, better known as Granny from Fuchsia Minnesota, has gotten my niece in lots of trouble as Delight lives in Fuchsia, and runs the Pink Percolator. Occasionally she comes to visit and we have bake fest.

I'm not married right now. Police Chief Hank Hardy and I used to have a little thing going in high school but apparently he decided it was a littler thing than I did and he married someone else, but we still have stayed very close. It always helps to stay close with the Police Chief because you never know when you need to pump information out of him.

I also like to bake. My pies and cheesecake are the best but not too many people know about my baking. It is what I do late at night when I am alone. I use my baked goods to pry information out of unsuspecting eaters.

I live a pretty ordinary life. I keep an eye on my neighbors, not because I worry about them but like I said before, they are strange and they have strange habits. It is pretty entertaining. I don't have to watch television, all I have to do is hide behind the curtains and watch their shenanigans. The man living next to me is called Rock Stone. Who names their kid Rock Stone?

In my spare time I like to visit the Brilliant Library although we are in the midst of a contest to rename it. Living in a community where everything is named Brilliant gets kind of boring. We have the Brilliant Bistro, the Brilliant Times Chronicles, the Brilliant Fire Department, the Brilliant Bank and the new Brilliant Brewery.

Our buildings in Brilliant have been preserved so you might wonder when you drive into Brilliant whether you are going back into time. We are a progressive community as long as you don't change the old architecture of the buildings. We citizens of Brilliant are brilliant enough to know if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

We have had a few problems lately, especially in the Penderghast neighborhood,so I've had to organize our neighbors to follow the clues and solve the puzzle to protect our neighborhood. Who knew we were living right on top of a puzzle waiting to explode. And then we had a murder in Annabelle's house. Annabelle's already dead and no one was supposed to be living in her house.

Well, I'll jingle on home. I must get on with my baking and then I'll have my glass of wine and sit on my upstairs porch after dark and watch the puzzle unfold. By the way if you visit Brilliant you might want to beware of what you do after dark, because Jezabelle Jingle rings her bell late into the night. Remember I warned you.


About the author:





Julie Seedorf is a Minnesotan. She calls dinner--supper and lunch--dinner. She has had many careers over her lifetime but her favorite career was that of mother to her children. In later life she became a computer technician, opening her own business.

In 2012 Julie signed a contract with Cozy Cat Press for her Fuchsia Minnesota Series. Books included in that series are Granny Hooks a Crook, Granny Skewers A Scoundrel, Granny Snows A Sneak and Granny Forks A Fugitive. Closing her computer business in January 2014 Julie transitioned to becoming a full time writer adding free-lance work for various newspapers, along with continuing her column Something About Nothing, which is now in book form in a book of the same name released in early 2015. Her children's series, Granny's In Trouble give her grandkids a hint of the young Grandma underneath the wrinkles.

Her books are light and fluffy and highlight the fact in the midst of life we have to find the humor in bad situations to keep us going. "We all take ourselves too seriously and we need to have a little fun." Julie secretly yearns to be like the Granny characters in her books. In February 2016 the first book in the Brilliant Minnesota Series was released titled the Penderghast Puzzle Protectors. She also is part of a group mystery by Cozy Cat Press Authors titled Chasing the Codex.

Julie's serious side is revealed in a story included in the Anthology, We Go On - Anthology for Veterans where the proceeds go to Veteran's Charities.

Visit her website at http://www.julieseedorf.com.

Her blog http://sprinklednotes is a little scattered like Granny but lends itself to wisdom and occasional flip flops about life.

You will also find her on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/julie.seedorf.author

Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/julieseedorf .
Enjoy the moments; they may carry you through a lifetime.

Friday, May 20, 2016

What's New? The Diva Serves High Tea by Krista Davis

What's New? The next book in the Domestic Diva Mystery Series is releasing on June 7th. The Diva Serves High Tea by Krista Davis is book 10 in the series. Do you have a favorite book in this series? Leave a comment and email below and one lucky reader will receive a copy of The Diva Serves High Tea.Good Luck everyone!






Series: A Domestic Diva Mystery (Book 10)
Mass Market Paperback: 304 pages
Publisher: Berkley (June 7, 2016)
Language: English



The New York Times bestselling author of The Diva Steals a Chocolate Kiss serves up a new mystery steeped in murder...

When The Parlour opens up in town, domestic diva Sophie Winston finally has a place to satisfy her cravings for all things tea and crumpet related. And the shop serves as the perfect place for the ladies of the town to gather and gossip, especially since it’s conveniently located right across the street from the new antique store run by the handsome and charming Warren Smith.

But speculation around Warren really boils over when he’s found dead—a victim of poisoning after attending a literacy fundraiser at The Parlour the night before. What Sophie learns about the man leaves a bitter taste in her mouth, and she’ll have to strain out a killer from a strange brew of suspects...


Includes delicious recipes and entertaining tips!



About the Author





Krista Davis is the New York Times bestselling author of the Domestic Diva Mysteries, including The Diva Steals a Chocolate Kiss, The Diva Wraps It Up, and The Diva Frosts a Cupcake. Several of her books have been nominated for the Agatha Award. She also writes the Paws and Claws Mysteries featuring Holly Miller and her Jack Russell terrier, Trixie, who has a nose for trouble. Krista lives in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia with two cats and a brood of dogs. Her friends and family complain about being guinea pigs for her recipes, but she notices that they keep coming back for more.

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Murder, By George by Jeanne Quigley

Do you love a good mystery? Murder, By George( A Veronica Walsh Mystery) by Jeanne Quigley was released on May 18th. Filled with drama and murder, this fast-paced page-turner will have you reading late into the night. Jeanne is giving one lucky reader a chance to win an advanced reader copy of this book. Leave a comment and email below to be entered. Good Luck everyone.







Series: A Veronica Walsh Mystery
Hardcover: 268 pages
Publisher: Five Star Publishing (May 18, 2016)
Language: English



Retired soap opera actress Veronica Walsh leads a fulfilling second act in her Adirondack hometown of Barton. Her boutique, All Things, is thriving and she enjoys a romance with Professor Mark Burke. She has neither the time nor the desire to be an amateur sleuth.

Trouble finds her when architect Scott Culverson buys a vintage box at the village's annual flea market and discovers a valuable painting and love letter inside a locked drawer. The awe over the masterpiece, a 1920's portrait of Barton's main street, turns to rage when a fierce argument ensues. The box's seller insists the painting was not included in the sale, while Ella and Madeline Griffin, whose mother received the painting as a wedding present, demand that Scott return the painting to their family. The artist's daughter, the formidable Leona Bradshaw Kendall, later joins the battle over Orchard Street.

When Scott is stabbed to death and the painting and letter stolen, the Griffin sisters ask Veronica to help clear suspicion from their hot-tempered great-niece, Regina. Despite a vow to stay out of the investigation, Veronica's loyalty to her friends draws her into the case.

Veronica crosses paths with a shady contractor, brassy hairdresser, overwrought lawyer, and adoring Czech housekeeper as she searches for both killer and work of art. Whom can Veronica trust, and who will lead her to the brink of death?


About the Author




Jeanne Quigley grew up reading mysteries, watching soap operas, and vacationing in the Adirondacks, never imagining these pleasures would be the foundation of her debut novel. Her love of characters-real and fictional-led her to study Sociology and English at the University of Notre Dame. Jeanne has never been a soap star, but she has worked in the music industry and for an education publisher. She lives in Rockland County, New York.


https://jeannequigley.wordpress.com/