Thursday, October 23, 2014

First in a New Series- Double Booked for Murder

It's time for another First in a Series. Double Booked for Murder by Ali Brandon starts the Black Cat Bookshop Mystery series.


Book Description

 December 6, 2011
As the new owners of Pettistone's Fine Books, Darla Pettistone is determined to prove herself a worthy successor to her late great-aunt Dee...and equally determined to outwit Hamlet, the smarter-than-thou cat she inherited along with the shop. Darla's first store event is a real coup: the hottest bestselling author of the moment is holding a signing there. But when the author meets an untimely end during the event, it's ruled an accident-until Hamlet digs up a clue that seems to indicate otherwise...


Haven't started this one? Well here is your chance to..



Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Author Spotlight- Rosie Genova

Happy Wednesday to you!!Today I am spotlighting the Lovely Rosie Genova. Rosie is the author of the Italian Kitchen Mystery Series. Thanks Rosie for hours of great reading!

Rosie GenovaMurder and Marinara: An Italian Kitchen Mystery (An Italian Kitchen Mystery series Book 1) The Wedding Soup Murder: An Italian Kitchen Mystery (An Italian Kitchen Mystery series Book 2) 


National bestselling author Rosie Genova is proud to be a Jersey girl. The inspiration for her new series, the Italian Kitchen Mysteries, comes from her deep appreciation for Italian food, her affinity for the Jersey shore, and her love of classic mysteries from Nancy Drew to Miss Marple. The first book in the series, Murder and Marinara, was named a Best Cozy of 2013 by Suspense Magazine and is a 2014 finalist for a Daphne Award by the Kiss of Death mystery chapter of RWA. When not at her writing desk, Rosie can be found in Room 111 teaching English and journalism. She still lives in her favorite state with her husband and the youngest of her three Jersey boys. Rosie also writes women's fiction as Rosemary DiBattista.

You can get her books here if you haven't already! Don't miss out on this series!


Tuesday, October 21, 2014

It's Here!! Double Strike by Gretchen Archer!

The book you all have been waiting for is here!! Double Strike by Gretchen Archer has hit the book stores and e-readers! Did you get it? 

Gretchen is amazing and her books are incredible you will be reading all night long! So Celebrate and get this book today!



Book Description

 October 21, 2014

USA TODAY BESTSELLING AUTHOR

Double Strike is special—funny, unique, and I love Davis.” – Janet Evanovich

Bellissimo Resort and Casino Super Spy Davis Way knows three things: Cooking isn’t a prerequisite for a happy marriage, don’t trust men who look like David Hasselhoff, and money doesn’t grow on Christmas trees. None of which help when a storm hits the Gulf a week before the most anticipated event in Bellissimo history: the Strike It Rich Sweepstakes. Securing the guests, staff, and property might take a stray bullet. Or two.
Bellissimo Resort and Casino Super Spy Davis Way has three problems: She’s desperate to change her marital status, she has a new boss who speaks in hashtags, and Bianca Sanders has confiscated her clothes. All of which bring on a headache hot enough to spark a fire. Solving her problems means stealing a car. From a dingbat lawyer.
Bellissimo Resort and Casino Super Spy Davis Way has three goals: Keep the Sanders family out of prison, regain her footing in her relationship, and find the genius who wrote the software for futureGaming. One of which, the manhunt one, is iffy. Because when Alabama hides someone, they hide them good.
DOUBLE STRIKE. A VIP invitation to an extraordinary high-stakes gaming event, as thieves, feds, dance instructors, shady bankers, kidnappers, and gold waiters go all in. #Don’tMissIt


You don't want to miss a single minute of this book!


Monday, October 20, 2014

Guest Post by Miranda James

I am so thrilled to have  Miranda James a.k.a.Dean James with us today! Miranda is the author of The Cat in the Stack Mysteries and her newest Southern Ladies  mystery, Bless Her Dead Little Heart!

So glad you can be with us today Miranda.  I am a big fan of your books! Looking forward to what will be next!





Belles of Steel
By Miranda James


Every small Southern town has them – those indomitable women who run all kinds of organizations, from garden and bridge clubs to charitable agencies. Often they come from the town’s oldest families, generation after generation of club women who oil the wheels of the social engine. These were exactly the women I needed when I was working on Out of Circulation, the fourth book in my “Cat in the Stacks” series.
The story revolved around fund-raising efforts for the local public library – in this case, the fictional Athena (Mississippi) Public Library. I needed strong characters for the Friends of the Library Board of Directors, and I counted on disagreements among the members. Has there ever been a committee when members didn’t butt heads over even the most minute of details? Perfect starting point for conflict in a murder mystery, I thought.
In the spring of 2011 I attended the first-ever Daddy’s Girls Weekend, an event put together by my friend and fellow writer, Carolyn Haines, author of the Sarah Booth Delaney series. There I met two sisters, An’gel Ducote Molpus and Dickce Ducote Little, who inspired me to create their fictional counterparts, Miss An’gel and Miss Dickce Ducote.
The fictional sisters are several decades older, unmarried, and childless, yet their characters owe much to their real-life inspirations. The Ducote sisters are the true grandes dames of Athena society, intelligent, hard-working, and intolerant of pretention and snobbery. The conflict between them and the character of Vera Cassity was an essential element of the story, and I had great fun with the scenes involving these characters.
Not long after I finished Out of Circulation I was working on ideas for a second series, one that would feature two older
women characters. After discussion with my agent and my editor, we settled on making the Ducote sisters the main characters. I loved them, my editor loved them, and evidently so did my readers. Thus was the new series born.
The first book in the “Southern Ladies” mysteries, Bless Her Dead Little Heart, is officially out on October 7th. The Ducote sisters are on their own as amateur detectives, because Charlie Harris and his family are in France on vacation. They do have the assistance of Diesel, the Maine Coon cat, who makes a cameo appearance in the book. An old sorority sister, Rosabelle Sultan, turns up on the sisters’ doorstep one August afternoon and claims that someone in her family is trying to murder her. Miss An’gel and Miss Dickce know that Rosabelle loves being the center of attention, but this sounds a bit over-the-top even for this self-absorbed socialite. When Rosabelle’s family members follow her to Athena, however, the sisters quickly discover that one of them does have murder in mind.

I had great fun writing this book, letting the sisters have their way. I hope readers will have fun, too, getting to know Miss An’gel and Miss Dickce.
Some of Miranda's books:

The Silence of the Library (Cat in the Stacks Mystery Book 5) Murder Past Due (Cat in the Stacks Mystery Book 1) Out of Circulation (Cat in the Stacks Mystery)  Classified as Murder (Cat in the Stacks Mystery Book 2)

Read Humane File M for Murder (Cat in the Stacks Mystery)


Check out amazon for all of these great reads!



Dean James/Miranda James
Bless Her Dead Little Heart  (Berkley Prime Crime, Oct. 7, 2014)
Arsenic and Old Books (Berkley Prime Crime hardcover, Jan. 27, 2015)
www.catinthestacks.com



Sunday, October 19, 2014

Weekly Wrap Up #41

Here's What happened this week:


Books I've read:

Stirring the Plot by Daryl Wood Gerber
The Legend of Sleepy Harlow by Kylie Logan

Coming this week:

Oct 20th- Guest Post- Dean James
Oct 21st- Book Review
Oct 22nd- Author Spotlight- Rosie Genova
Oct 23rd- First in a New Series- Double Booked for Murder
Oct 24th- Blog Tour- Murder in Reel Time
Oct 25th- Book Trivia hosted by Heather Webber

I Hope you will come and check it out this week!

Saturday, October 18, 2014

Book Trivia hosted by Ritter Ames

It's time for trivia and today's lovely host is.. Ritter Ames!! The trivia is from her Organized Mysteries! Leave your answers here and the winner will be chosen tomorrow afternoon!!


Here we go! Good Luck.

1.So far in the Organized Mysteries series, the murders have occurred because of job Kate contracted to work for her organizational company. What is the name of Kate’s small business venture?
2.What is Meg always wondering about Lieutenant Johnson?
3.Why did the McKenzie family move to Hazelton, VT?
4.What is the occupation of Meg Berman’s husband, Gil?
5.In Organized for Murder, what beverage does the client (and first victim) share with Kate until they are interrupted?
6.Kate and Meg are best friends now, and work well together in the organization business, but Kate had never really had a close friend before. Why?
7.In Organized for Homicide, the suspect has a fledging small business of her own that is getting a lot of attention. What kind of business is it?
8.In Organized for Murder, Keith had organized the neighborhood kids in a game of street hockey. His and Kate’s daughters played the same position—but on opposite teams—as Keith played during his pro years. What position is that?
9.How many children does Meg have?
10.The Berman household is full of pets—two dogs, two cats, and a bearded dragon at the moment. What pet did Kate’s girls finally get in Organized for Homicide after bugging her for months to let them have a pet of their own?

The prize is:
Kate and Meg are the best kind of friends—they support each other while accepting the other’s flaws and failings. They are also moms who know advice shared makes life just that much easier. Because of their friendship—and because Kate is still getting acclimated to Vermont’s brisk weather—the giveaway is a pair of Organized for Homicide porcelain mugs, so the winner can share with her/his best friend, and they can both use the mugs to enjoy warm beverages in the upcoming cooler months. Also included will be a pair of magnetic clips to share—perfect for keeping shopping notes on the refrigerator, or for lists of phone numbers of favorite people.


Friday, October 17, 2014

Dust Bunnies and Dead Bodies by Janis THornton

It's time for another great book to be spotlighted.  Dust Bunnies and Dead Bodies will be the book you will not want to put down, Welcome Janis Thornton, so glad you can be here with us today!

DUST BUNNIES  large banner 640

Dust Bunnies & Dead Bodies
by Janis Thornton

I liked Dust Bunnies & Dead Bodies because it was a quirky and fun small town mystery… This mystery had a good story and very interesting plot twists, which made it an enjoyable read.
~Books-n-Kisses
DustBunniesDeadBodies4Dust Bunnies and Dead Bodies
(An Elmwood Confidential Cozy Mystery Book 1)

Publisher: Cup of Tea Books,
An Imprint of PageSpring Publishing (October 15, 2014)
E-Book File Size: 3659 KB
Print Length: 286 pages
ASIN: B00N34T6XM
Synopsis
When it comes to murder, forget the butler . . . it’s the housekeeper who knows where the bodies are buried.
Small-town newspaper editor Crystal Cropper never takes “no” for an answer, hates to be called a “senior citizen,” and uses the power of her pen to expose corruption in her small town.
Cleaning lady Gertie has a knack for sweeping skeletons out of closets—which makes her one of Crystal’s best informants. But Gertie’s latest hot tip has landed her in a coma, courtesy of an unknown assailant.
Now Crystal must follow the trail of dirt and gossip right to the doorsteps of several prominent local families to solve a decade-old murder and the disappearance of a young boy . . .
My Review:
This first is a new series and sure to hit your funny spot.  You meet Crystal and Gertie, Crystal likes solving old cases and will stop at nothing to bring the killer to justice. This mystery will have you in from the beginning and will keep you reading. The characters are fun and likeable and the story line is captivating and moving. 
Meet the Dust Bunnies and Dead Bodies Cast

When the casting call for my first cozy mystery novel, Dust Bunnies and Dead Bodies, was sounded, I was fortunate that so many wonderful, capable characters answered.
I’d like to take this opportunity to introduce four of them … the stars.

Crystal Cropper
For the protagonist, I was looking for a Baby Boomer-aged, strong, independent woman, who was tenacious, smart, resourceful, charming (when it worked to her advantage), snarky (usually), and loyal to a fault. Naturally, I couldn’t cast myself, so I did the next best thing… Enter Crystal Cropper. Her resume boasts a few accomplishments I have only dreamed about—like acing her Ladies Kick-Ass Self-Defense course or working as a crime beat reporter for a major Southern California newspaper. She obviously has a knack for the written word and never hesitates to use the power of her pen to expose corruption in her tiny town. Oh, one other thing. If you value your life, never call her a “senior citizen” … Not. Ever.

Gertie Tyroo
Gertie Tyroo is one of those people you never really know. An octogenarian, she’s barely five foot tall, wears a leopard-print coat year-round, is never seen without her straw handbag clutched to her chest, and flies off the handle at the drop of a crumb—especially if it falls onto one of her freshly mopped floors. But there is another, deeper side to Gertie that even Crystal Cropper doesn’t know about. Yet. Even I am not at liberty to reveal too much about it, lest I want the men in black knocking on my door. And so, I’ll leave it at this: November 22, 1963. Dallas. Grassy Knoll.

Sheriff Verlin Wallace
Crystal’s prickly relationship with her life-long buddy, Verlin Wallace, started the instant they met in Mrs. Stroup’s kindergarten class at Elmwood Elementary more than 60 years ago. From day one, verbal sparring was how they communicated. Verlin is a career law enforcement officer, starting out as a deputy. He was elected to two terms as sheriff in the 1990s, and is currently in the middle of this third term. Verlin is Andy Taylor with a touch of Barney Fife. Despite his inordinate amount of puff and bluster, he is nonetheless well liked by Elm County folk. Verlin is good at his job, and few people know how much he actually detests performing criminal investigations. A confirmed bachelor, Verl doesn’t have the patience to put up with a
woman meddling in his day-to-day life; but if truth be told, there is one woman he’s always been partial to. He knows it’s crazy, but he harbors a speck of hope that in their old age, she’ll be partial to him too.

Kathryn Baxter
The beautiful and conniving Kathryn Lovejoy Kronkite Baxter was a widowed, disinherited, former private-duty nurse when she waltzed into the life of Elmwood High School football coach Jack Baxter in the spring of 1993, shortly after the death of his wife. Was it coincidence that only six months after Jack and Kathryn married, he suffered a massive, debilitating stroke, exactly as her previous husband had? The stroke left Jack a complete invalid, totally dependent on his over-protective, young wife. The stroke also left Kathryn free to pursue other interests, namely handsome younger men and possibly a key role in an illegal drug ring.

While space does not allow me to list them all, DB2’s supporting cast works hard to keep the story moving at a rapid pace, and the reader entertained and guessing to the very end. I think they do, but I’m prejudiced. I’ll leave the verdict up to you.

*  *  *

About This Author
Janis Thornton is a freelance writer, personal historian, and award-winning journalist. She is the author of two local history books, Images of America: Tipton County and Images of America: Frankfort. She is a member of Sisters in Crime, the Indiana Writers Center, Association of Personal Historians, and the Midwest Writers Workshop Planning Committee. She lives in a small, Indiana town not unlike Elmwood. Dust Bunnies and Dead Bodies is her debut novel.

Author Links
Amazon author page:


Janis author photo2
About This Author
Janis Thornton is a freelance writer, personal historian, and award-winning journalist. She is the author of two local history books, Images of America: Tipton County andImages of America: Frankfort. She is a member of Sisters in Crime, the Indiana Writers Center, Association of Personal Historians, and the Midwest Writers Workshop Planning Committee. She lives in a small Indiana town not unlike Elmwood. Dust Bunnies and Dead Bodies is her debut cozy mystery.

Author Links
Website and blogwww.janis-thornton.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/janis.thornton.96?ref=tn_tnmn
New Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/janisthorntonauthor
Twitter: https://twitter.com/JanisThornton
Purchase Link:
Amazon