Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Author Spotlight- Larissa Reinhart

It is always a great day when Larissa Reinhart is my spotlight. Larissa is the author of the Cherry Tucker Mystery Series. I got to meet Larissa at Malice a couple years ago and she is one of the sweetest people I have ever met.






Larissa considers herself lucky to have taught English in Japan, escaped a ferocious monkey in Thailand, studied archaeology in Egypt, and survived teaching high school history in the US. However, adopting her daughters from China has been her most rewarding experience. After moving around the Midwest, the South and Japan, her home address is Peachtree City, Georgia.

However, in June 2015, she and her husband, daughters, and little dog, Biscuit, moved back to Nagoya, Japan, where she continues to write.

She loves small town characters with big attitudes, particularly sassy women with a penchant for trouble. The Cherry Tucker Mystery series with Henery Press begins with Portrait of a Dead Guy (August 28, 2012), a 2012 Daphne du Maurier finalist, a 2012 The Emily finalist, and a 2011 Dixie Kane Memorial winner. Following Portrait are Still Life in Brunswick Stew, (May 21, 2013), the 2014 Georgia Author of the Year and Silver Falchion nominee, Hijack in Abstract (November 5, 2013), and Death in Perspective (June 24, 2014) follow. The fifth Cherry Tucker mystery, The Body in the Landscape, released December 15, 2015. The Cherry Tucker novella, Quick Sketch, in the mystery anthology Heartache Motel (December 10, 2013) is a prequel to Portrait.

She was very pleased to receive the 2015 finalist medal for Georgia Author of the Year, Best Mystery, for Death in Perspective.

Monday, May 2, 2016

First in Series- Portraits of a Dead Guy by Larissa Reinhart

Happy Monday! This weeks First in a Series is Portrait of a Dead Guy by Larissa Reinhart. The first in the Cherry Tucker Mystery series released on August 28th 2012.








Series: A Cherry Tucker Mystery
Paperback: 270 pages
Publisher: Henery Press; First edition (August 28, 2012)
Language: English


HIGH-OCTANE ACTION WITH QUIRKY, DOWN-HOME CHARACTERS...

"An entertaining mystery full of quirky characters and solid plotting...Highly recommended for anyone who likes their mysteries strong and their mint juleps stronger!” - Jennie Bentley, New York Times Bestselling Author of Flipped Out

“Reinhart is a truly talented author and this book was one of the best cozy mysteries we reviewed this year…We highly recommend this book to all lovers of mystery books. Our Rating: 4.5 Stars.” – Mystery Tribune

In Halo, Georgia, folks know Cherry Tucker as big in mouth, small in stature, and able to sketch a portrait faster than buckshot rips from a ten gauge -- but commissions are scarce. So when the well-heeled Branson family wants to memorialize their murdered son in a coffin portrait, Cherry scrambles to win their patronage from her small town rival. As the clock ticks toward the deadline, Cherry faces more trouble than just a controversial subject. Between ex-boyfriends, her flaky family, an illegal gambling ring, and outwitting a killer on a spree, Cherry finds herself painted into a corner she’ll be lucky to survive.

* Winner of the Dixie Kane Memorial Award * Nominated for the Daphne du Maurier Award and the Emily Award *

Praise for PORTRAIT OF A DEAD GUY:

“The tone of this marvelously cracked book is not unlike Sophie Littlefield’s brilliant A Bad Day for Sorry, as author Reinhart dishes out shovelfuls of ribald humor and mayhem. It takes a rare talent to successfully portray a beer-and-hormone-addled artist as a sympathetic and worthy heroine, but Reinhart pulls it off with tongue-in-cheek panache.” – Betty Webb, Mystery Scene Magazine

"Pure enjoyment, a laugh out loud mystery with some Southern romance thrown in. FIVE STARS OUT OF FIVE.” - Lynn Farris, National Mystery Review Examiner at Examiner.com

“Laugh-out-loud funny and as Southern as sweet tea and cheese grit, Larissa Reinhart’s masterfully crafted whodunit, Portrait of a Dead Guy, provides high-octane action with quirky, down-home characters and a trouble-magnet heroine who’ll steal readers’ hearts and have them begging for the next Cherry Tucker Mystery.” - Debby Giusti, author of The Captain's Mission and The Colonel's Daughter

“Larissa Reinhart's debut sparkles with wit. A fun, fast-paced read and a rollicking start to her Cherry Tucker Mystery Series. If you like your stories Southern-fried with a side of romance, this book's for you!” - Leslie Tentler, Author of Midnight Caller

“I could not put down this fast-paced, action-filled and fun romp in this debut novel that had me laughing out-loud from beginning to end... Boasting Southern charm and engagingly amusing banter, this was very enjoyable and a great start to what I hope is a long-running series.” - Dru Ann Love, Dru’s Book Musings and The Cozy Chicks Blog

Books in the Cherry Tucker Humorous Mystery Series:

PORTRAIT OF A DEAD GUY (#1)
STILL LIFE IN BRUNSWICK STEW (#2)
HIJACK IN ABSTRACT (#3)
QUICK SKETCH (Novella prequel to PORTRAIT in HEARTACHE MOTEL)
DEATH IN PERSPECTIVE (#4) (Summer 2014)
Part of the Henery Press Mystery Series Collection, if you like one, you'll probably like them all...


About the Author




Larissa Reinhart began her writing career in second grade when she sold her first publication to her neighbor for a nickel. After moving around the Midwest, South, and Japan, she now lives in Georgia with her husband, young daughters, and Biscuit, a Cairn terrier. Although she speaks without an accent, her writing is known to have a Southern drawl. Her debut novel, PORTRAIT OF A DEAD GUY, is a 2011 Dixie Kane Memorial winner, a 2012 The Emily finalist, and a 2012 Daphne du Maurier Award finalist.

Sunday, May 1, 2016

Weekly Wrap Up #18

Happy May Everyone!





Coming this week to Shelley's Book Case:


May 2nd- First in Series- Portrait of a Dead Guy  by Larissa Reinhart
May 3rd- Author Spotlight- Larissa Reinhart
May 4th- New Feature.
May 5th- Shelley's Reviews
May 6th- What's New? Knit to be Tied by Maggie Sefton
May 6th- Blog Tour- Failure is Fatal by Leslie A. Diehl
May 7th- Leading Ladies of Mystery - Molly Tyler by Karoline Barrett


Here is what happened this week:

April 25th- First in a Series- Staged to Death by Karen Rose Smith
April 26th- Author Spotlight and Blog Tour- Silence of the Lamps by Karen Rose Smith
April 27th- Book Trivia hosted by Terri L. Austin
April 28th- Blog Tour- Without a Doubt by Nancy Cole Silverman
April 29th- What's New? Newlywed Dead by Nancy J. Parra
April 30th- Shelley's reviews Girl on the Run by Daryl Wood Gerber



Saturday, April 30, 2016

Shelley's Review- Girl on the Run by Daryl Wood Gerber

My review for this week is Girl on the Run by Daryl Wood Gerber.







Paperback: 296 pages
Publisher: Chucklin, Inc. (April 7, 2016)
Language: English



“Readers will be shocked by this exciting, fast-paced thriller’s twists and turns." Kirkus Reviews From nationally bestselling author Daryl Wood Gerber comes a gripping new suspense!

When a fairytale fantasy night becomes a nightmare, Chessa Paxton must run for her life...but will the truth set her free?

Chessa Paxton, an event planner in Lake Tahoe, celebrates a successful night at the Happily Ever After Ball, but her dream quickly becomes a nightmare when she wakes up beside the body of her dead husband. Nauseous and confused, feeling as if she's been drugged, she can't explain to the sheriff why her princess costume is bloodied. With her father already a convicted murderer, she feels invisible shackles ratcheting onto her wrists and ankles. She runs! But she can't escape vivid flashes of memory: a massacre in a meadow; men and women in fairy tale costumes; Snow White’s dead body shielding her from bullets.

Though Chessa is a former costumer and a master of disguise, she quickly learns that hiding while trying to prove herself innocent is the most difficult task imaginable. Especially when the sheriff wants to throw her in jail and the real killer wants to silence her forever.



Girl on the Run is a gripping and intense suspense mystery that will have you on the edge of your seat. Fast-paced and action packed you will be pulled in from the start. Daryl Wood Gerber has dipped her hand into the suspense mystery genre and has a hit on her hands with her debut book. Get it today for a thrilling ride.






Agatha Award-winning and nationally bestselling author DARYL WOOD GERBER ventures into the world of suspense with her gripping debut novel, GIRL ON THE RUN.

Daryl also writes the bestselling Cookbook Nook Mysteries.

As Avery Aames, she pens the bestselling Cheese Shop Mysteries.

Fun tidbit: as an actress, Daryl appeared in "Murder, She Wrote". In addition, she has jumped out of a perfectly good airplane and hitchhiked around Ireland by herself. She absolutely adores Lake Tahoe, where GIRL ON THE RUN is set, and she has a frisky Goldendoodle named Sparky.

Visit Daryl at www.darylwoodgerber.com.

Friday, April 29, 2016

What's New? Newlywed Dead by Nancy J. Parra

What's New? Coming May 3rd to bookstores and e-readers near you. Newlywed Dead(Perfectly Proposals Mystery) by Nancy J. Parra.








Series: Perfect Proposals Mystery (Book 3)
Mass Market Paperback: 288 pages
Publisher: Berkley (May 3, 2016)
Language: English



In the new Perfect Proposals mystery from the author of Bodice of Evidence and Engaged in Murder, a country club wedding reception becomes the scene of a baffling crime.


The wedding for Pepper Pomeroy’s sister Felicity starts with dearly beloved but it ends with dearly departed when Ashley, the bartender Pepper befriended earlier in the evening, drops dead from a lethal nightcap. Authorities think it’s just a tragic accident. After all, who’d want to kill a virtual stranger at a country club wedding reception? That’s what Pepper wants to know.


A search into Ashley’s past reveals a twisty path of secret sororities, well-connected enemies, and an unsolved slaying still shadowing members of high society—including a filthy-rich battle-ax whose demands for the services of Pepper’s Perfect Proposals are starting to sound more like veiled threats. Pepper’s business may be booming but continued success means outsmarting a mysterious culprit who’s still wedded to the idea of murder.


About the Author




Nancy J. Parra is the author of Bodice of Evidence and Engaged in Murder in the Perfect Proposals Mystery series and Flourless to Stop Him, Murder Gone A-Rye, and Gluten for Punishment in the Baker’s Treat Mystery series. She lives in California with her trusty Bichon-Poo, whom she refers to warmly as “Little Dog.” Parra also authors the national bestselling Candy-Coated Mystery series as Nancy Coco.


Thursday, April 28, 2016

Blog Tour- Without a Doubt by Nancy Cole Silverman

Nancy Cole Silverman is is here today. The next installment of the Carol Childs Mystery Without a Doubt is being released on May 24th. You won't want to miss this one.







Without a Doubt (A Carol Childs Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Henery Press (May 24, 2016)
Paperback: 258 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1635110258
E-Book ASIN: B01C4LEFTE


Synopsis

As radio reporter Carol Childs investigates a series of Beverly Hills jewelry heists, she realizes her FBI boyfriend, Eric, is working the same case. Even worse, she may have inadvertently helped the suspect escape. The situation intensifies when the suspect calls the radio station during a live broadcast, baiting Carol deeper into the investigation.

In order for her to uncover the truth, Carol must choose between her job and her personal relationships. What started out as coincidence between Carol and Eric becomes a race for the facts—pitting them against one another—before the thieves can pull off a daring escape, leaving a trail of dead bodies behind, and taking the jewels with them.

Related subjects include: women sleuths, murder mystery series, whodunit mysteries (whodunnit), book club recommendations, suspense, noir.

Books in the Carol Childs Mystery Series:
• SHADOW OF DOUBT (#1)
• BEYOND A DOUBT (#2)
• WITHOUT A DOUBT (#3)

Praise for this series:
“Carol is a smart, savvy heroine that will appeal to readers. This is a cozy with a bite.” – Rosemary Smith, Books for Avid Readers (on Shadow of Doubt)

“Fast paced and cleverly plotted, an edgy cozy with undertones of noir.” – Sue McGinty, Author of the Bella Kowalski Central Coast Mysteries (on Beyond a Doubt)

I really enjoyed this book. Cozy mystery with humor and attitude, that draws you in from the first page. You won't want to stop reading this one. This is by far my favorite in the series and am looking forward to what will happen next.





About The Author –

Nancy Cole Silverman credits her twenty-five years in radio for helping her to develop an ear for storytelling. In 2001, Silverman retired from news and copywriting to write fiction full time. In 2014, Silverman signed with Henery Press for her new mystery series, The Carol Childs’ Mysteries. The first of the series, Shadow of Doubt, debuted in December 2014 and the second, Beyond a Doubt, debuted July 2015. The third, Without A Doubt, is available in May 2016. For more information visit www.nancycolesilverman.com


Author Links –
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Nancy-Cole-Silverman/314202208737024?ref=h
GoodReads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4027978.Nancy_Cole_Silverman
Twitter: @NancyColeSilve1


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Last Light by Cj Lyons

Welcome to another exciting tour with Novel Publicity. Today we're pleased to share an interview with our featured author, CJ Lyons!





In a world of constantly changing markets, readership and trends, we’d like to talk to you a bit more today on how you cope with constant change as an author. Social media can be hard to manage for some people, do you have any useful tips for how to use social media as an author?

CJ: If it energizes you and makes you more creative, helps you get more words on the page, then have a blast! If you see it as a burden that sucks the creativity from your day (that’s me, lol!) then don’t worry about it. It’s just one more tool and there are many ways to reach readers.

How much time to you devote to social media for your books each day (or week)?

CJ: I’m lucky if I remember to post something during any given week, so almost nothing. If I am there spending time on social media it’s not because it’s scheduled but rather because my readers are engaging me. Conversations are much easier for me than remembering to come up with a clever meme and posting it.

Many authors use platforms such as Facebook to escape when they suffer writer's’ block. Do you ever do this, and have you found any creative ways to use social media to inspire your writing?

CJ: Nope…I never go to FB except to post or answer reader’s comments/messages. I’m a hermit by nature and I’ve learned to embrace the fact that I’m simply not “social” in the social media sense. Plus, any time/words spent on social media are less times/words spent on getting the story told—which is what my readers keep telling me is what they want, more books.

Your www.cjlyons.net offers lots of extras including your books, research links and tips for writers. Can you tell us a bit about building your site? Who helped you, and how much work is it to keep up to date?

CJ: I built it myself—after several disastrous encounters with web designers who’d flake out on me right when I needed them most. But remember, former ER doc here, so I’m a total control freak. I’ve had the site since 2004 so it’s grown over time. Now it’s so large that my biggest challenge is pruning the clutter, something I’m slowly tackling. I don’t blog, so it really doesn’t take a lot of time to keep up other than listing new titles.

Now that we’ve talked about your website, we’d like to know if you read blogs, or have other favorite websites, and if you do, what’s your favorite right now?

CJ: I run my life from my email inbox so I only follow blogs/newsfeeds that have an email subscription option (you wouldn’t believe how many don’t!) I follow my friend, Joanna Penn’s writing blog, TheCreativePenn.com because she’s brilliant and so energetic—I recommend her site to any aspiring author. Other than that the main blogs I follow are sites like the FBI, Officer.com, The Browser, the New York Times and Washington Post, Big Think, the Crime Report, and LifeHacker—places where quirky stories come my way and inspire my writing.

You have links to facebook and twitter social media links on your website. Is there a specific channel you’re more likely to be active on, and if so why?

CJ: My twitter followers are mainly fellow writers and I’ve pretty much given up on it—it’s overwhelming for someone who doesn’t go online very much. I have a FB page (https://www.facebook.com/cj.lyons) and enjoy interacting with readers there, but I don’t post much except fun quotes I stumble across (I collect quotes), the occasional news on my books, and deals on good books that come across my inbox. Sometimes I’ll do events there with fellow thriller authors like Toni McGee Causey or Debra Webb—authors I know my readers will enjoy hearing from. But it’s all very low key.

Newsletters are one of many ways authors like to keep in touch with their readership. Can you tell us what subscribers can expect when they sign up for your newsletter, and how often they might hear from you?

CJ: I try to do at least one Thrillers with Heart newsletter a month (it always amazes me when readers write and ask for more!) and I keep it short and sweet—usually a featured deal on a book, or an exclusive read for my fans, occasionally a special guest feature with a fellow thriller author my fans know and love. When you sign up for my Thrillers with Heart mailing list, you’ll receive a free copy of Snake Skin, the first Lucy Guardino FBI Thriller with your welcome email. I also send other free reads when inspiration hits me and I can get organized enough to upload the files.

Where do you go for social media and marketing advice? Know any great books or tips other authors might find useful?

CJ: As I mentioned above, Joanna Penn is the shining star here. Also the guys at the Self Publishing Podcast are awesome. There’s so much advice out there, it’s really hard not to find the answer to any questions you have. Years ago that wasn’t the case, so I began my own writing blog, NoRulesJustWrite.com in order to give something back. It’s still there with all the resources available but I’ve stopped adding new material as my mission of showing people their publishing options was accomplished.

One last chance...If you were doing it all over again, would you change anything about how you published, got cover art made, or got the word out about your books?

CJ: When I first self-published back in 2009 no one really knew what it was all about. I started because my NYC publisher insisted on releasing only one book a year and my readers were deluging me with emails asking for more. I even offered to give my publisher free short stories to release between books to keep the readers happy but they refused. So when I heard about Kindle and self-publishing I realized I had the answer—I could publish manuscripts that for a variety of reasons had been accepted by NYC publishers, professionally copyedited, etc, but never made it to actual publication. That way my readers would be happy and remember my name in between my print books. There were few freelance graphic designers doing cover art in those days and that’s my one regret. I found one within six months of publishing once I realized that my e-books were really taking off, but I wish I’d had one from the beginning. Also, even though my earlier books had been through NYC publisher’s copy-editors, I realized early on that copy-editing wasn’t the same as proofreading and I quickly hired freelance proofreaders and revised those manuscripts. Now, I often have the cover art before I even start a book (my designer does them in batches to keep the series branded) and I hire the same developmental editors, copyeditors, and proofreaders that my NYC publishers use! I love it when readers can’t tell the difference between my self-published titles and my NYC published ones.

Thanks for joining us today Cj!

About the Books

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons. For fans of Lisa Gardner, Tami Hoag, and Jeffery Deaver: "Everything a great thriller should be--action packed, authentic, and intense." ~#1 New York Times bestselling author Lee Child After leaving the FBI, life should be easy, right? Wrong--not if you're Lucy Guardino. Lucy has always seen herself as a normal Pittsburgh soccer mom who happened to have a job chasing the worst of the worst. But after a violent predator targets her family and she's injured, Lucy sacrifices her career with the FBI in order to keep her family safe. What is she now that she's no longer a FBI Special Agent? she wonders as she begins her new job with the Beacon Group, a private consulting firm that specializes in cold cases and bringing justice to forgotten victims.Lucy fears she's traded being a kick-ass law enforcement officer for being a civilian mother hen shepherding a team of amateurs. What is she now that she's no longer a FBI Special Agent?

she wonders as she begins her new job with the Beacon Group, a private consulting firm that specializes in cold cases and bringing justice to forgotten victims.Lucy fears she's traded being a kick-ass law enforcement officer for being a civilian mother hen shepherding a team of amateurs. Her fears appear justified when she's partnered with TK O'Connor, a former Marine MP struggling with her transition to life back home, and sent to rural Texas to investigate a case that's more than cold, it's already been closed with the killers behind bars for the past twenty-nine years. But...who really killed Lily Martin, her infant daughter, and husband?

Why was an entire family targeted for anihilation? What price will Lucy pay when she fights to expose a truth people will kill to keep buried? LAST LIGHT is the seventh Lucy Guardino novel, but they can be read out of order. If you enjoy captivating suspense, intelligent storytelling,strong and vulnerable characters, and a freight-train pace, then you'll love this adrenaline rush of a heart-pounding thriller. Join the millions of readers who've fallen for CJ's Thrillers with Heart and grab your copy of LAST LIGHT today!

My Review;

This fast-paced action filled drama will keep you mesmerized by the story. The cast of Characters are strong and intense. A gripping non- stop read you won't want to put down. Cj Lyons is a Brilliant story teller and this book shows that. I loved the ride with each page and look forward to reading the next one.





amazon.com
Barnes-Noble-Logokobo 



Pediatric ER doctor turned New York Times bestselling thriller writer CJ Lyons has been a storyteller all her life—something that landed her in many time-outs as a kid. She writes her Thrillers with Heart for the same reason that she became a doctor: because she believes we all have the power to change our world. In the ER she witnessed many acts of courage by her patients and their families, learning that heroes truly are born every day. When not writing, she can be found walking the beaches near her Lowcountry home, listening to the voices in her head and plotting new and devious ways to create mayhem for her characters. To learn more about her Thrillers with Heart go to www.CJLyons.net Connect with CJ on her website, Facebook, or Twitter.




a Rafflecopter giveaway