Friday, July 31, 2015

Blog Tour- Between a Rock and a Hard Place by Marty Wingate

Pru Park stopped by today with her latest book Between a Rock and a Hard Place by Marty Wingate. Welcome Marty and Pru, so thrilled you can join us.





Print Length: 276 pages
Publisher: Alibi (August 4, 2015)
Publication Date: August 4, 2015
Sold by: Random House LLC







Perfect for fans of Laura Childs, Ellery Adams, and Jenn McKinlay, Marty Wingate’s enchanting Potting Shed Mystery series heads to Scotland as Pru Parke plans her wedding . . . all while a vengeful murderer is poised to strike again.


After her romantic idyll with the debonair Detective Chief Inspector Christopher Pearse culminates in a marriage proposal, Pru Parke sets about arranging their nuptials while diving into a short-term gig at the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh. At hand is the authentication of a journal purportedly penned by eighteenth-century botanist and explorer Archibald Menzies. Compared to the chaos of wedding planning, studying the journal is an agreeable task . . . that is, until a search for a missing cat leads to the discovery of a dead body: One of Pru’s colleagues has been conked on the head with a rock and dumped from a bridge into the Water of Leith.


Pru can’t help wondering if the murder has something to do with the Menzies diary. Is the killer covering up a forgery? Among the police’s many suspects are a fallen aristocrat turned furniture maker, Pru’s overly solicitous assistant, even Pru herself. Now, in the midst of sheer torture by the likes of flamboyant wedding dress designers and eccentric church organists, Pru must also uncover the work of a sly murderer—unless this bride wants to walk down the aisle in handcuffs.


You will be pulled in to the story right from the start. Pru is busy getting ready for her wedding and wants everything to be perfect from the flowers, the music and the caterers she has worked hard for everything to run smoothly. So when a body is found while she is looking for the cat she gets more than she hoped for on her big day.She now has to deal with all the wedding plans and find the killer to clear her name before she walks down the isle.

With a cast of characters so fun and well developed, The story will keep you captivated and intrigued right to the last page. I am a fan of Pru's and look forward to the next book and what she will find herself tangled up in next. Charming, witty and fun.




About the Author



Marty Wingate is the author of two previous Potting Shed mysteries, The Garden Plot and The Red Book of Primrose House. Her new Birds of a Feather Mystery series debuted with The Rhyme of the Magpie. Wingate is a regular contributor toCountry Gardens and other magazines. She also leads gardening tours throughout England, Scotland, Ireland, France, and North America. More Potting Shed and Birds of a Feather mysteries are planned.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

5 comments:

  1. I'm just learning if this series. I've seen the cover of the first book on a few blogs. It looks promising. I'd love to give it a read.
    bpwoodfield@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. Between a Rock and a Hard Place sounds like a good read. I'm looking forward to reading it.
    peggyhyndman(at)att(dot)net

    ReplyDelete
  3. I read the first one in this series and really enjoyed it. I have no idea why I haven't continued with it but hopefully I will soon. This one looks great!

    ReplyDelete