Monday, August 24, 2015

First in Series- By Book or By Crook by Eva Gates

Happy Monday! Today's First in Series is By Book or By Crook by Eva Gates.

Print Length: 341 pages
Publisher: NAL (February 3, 2015)
Publication Date: February 3, 2015
Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC

Get bound up in murder in the first Lighthouse Library mystery!

For ten years Lucy has enjoyed her job poring over rare tomes of literature for the Harvard Library, but she has not enjoyed the demands of her family’s social whorl or her sort-of-engagement to the staid son of her father’s law partner. But when her ten-year relationship implodes, Lucy realizes that the plot of her life is in need of a serious rewrite.

Calling on her aunt Ellen, Lucy hopes that a little fun in the Outer Banks sun—and some confections from her cousin Josie’s bakery—will help clear her head. But her retreat quickly turns into an unexpected opportunity when Aunt Ellen gets her involved in the lighthouse library tucked away on Bodie Island.

Lucy is thrilled to land a librarian job in her favorite place in the world. But when a priceless first edition Jane Austen novel is stolen and the chair of the library board is murdered, Lucy suddenly finds herself ensnared in a real-life mystery—and she’s not so sure there’s going to be a happy ending....

About the Author

Eva Gates began her writing career as a Sunday writer: a single mother of three high-spirited daughters, with a full-time job as a computer programmer. As Vicki Delany, she is the author of several books, including the Klondike Mystery series and the Smith and Winters series. Eva lives in Canada.


  1. I enjoyed that book. Who wouldn't want to live in a light house above a library?

  2. I've got this book on my ever growing to be read list. How cool to have a library in a lighthouse. I would love to work at a library like that!

  3. Now this sounds intriguing....old books, my fav

    Kathleen Bylsma

  4. Thanks for the reminder! I have this on my list to get read before the next one comes out!


First in Series- Miss Julia Speaks her Mind by Ann B. Ross

Happy Monday! This week's First in Series is Miss Julia Speaks her Mind by Ann B. Ross Released on August 22, 2000. Seri...