Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Author Spotlight- Vicki Delany

This week's Author Spotlight is the lovely Vicki Delany! Vicki has a new series out called Rest Ye Murdered Gentleman and She also writes as Eva Gates.

Eva Gates is the author of the Lighthouse Library cozy series from Penguin Obsidian, set in a historic lighthouse on the Outer Banks of North Carolina, featuring Boston-transplant librarian, and highly reluctant sleuth, Lucy Richardson. The first in the series, By Book or By Crook, was released in February 2015. Eva is the pen name of bestselling author Vicki Delany, one of Canada’s most prolific and varied crime writers.

Vicki Delany began her writing career as a Sunday writer: a single mother of three high-spirited daughters with a full-time job as a computer programmer. Sunday afternoon was – and at that, only now and again – the only time she had to spend all by herself, with a single candle on her desk for a bit of atmosphere, a Bruce Springsteen tape in the tape deck, and a nice cup of tea at her elbow. When she felt like really letting loose, the tea might have turned into a glass of wine.

The years passed, as they tend to do, and the three daughters, somewhat hesitantly, flew the coop, leaving Vicki more time to devote to her writing. She was able to write three novels of suspense, set in Ontario, two of which, Scare the Light Away and Burden of Memory were published to critical acclaim by Poisoned Pen Press of Scottsdale, Arizona.

In 2007, Vicki took early retirement from her job as a systems analyst with a major bank and sold her house in Oakville, Ontario. At that time In the Shadow of the Glacier, the first book in a police procedural series set in the British Columbia Interior was published. After travelling around North America for a year with her dog, Shenzi, she bought a home in bucolic, rural Prince Edward County, Ontario, where she rarely wears a watch and can write whenever she feels like it.

Since settling in Prince Edward County, Vicki has continued with her writing career, publishing books in several different sub-genres as well as a book for adults with low literacy skills.

The Lighthouse Library Series, by Eva Gates, published by Penguin Obsidian
By Book or By Crook, 2015
Booked for Trouble, Sept 2015
Reading up a Storm, April 2016
The Year Round Christmas Mysteries from Berkley Prime Crime
Rest Ye Murdered Gentlemen, Nov 2015
We Wish You a Murderous Christmas, 2016
The Constable Molly Smith Series, published by Poisoned Pen Press,
In the Shadow of the Glacier, 2007
Valley of the Lost, 2009
Winter of Secrets, 2009
Negative Image, 2010
Among the Departed, 2011
A Cold White Sun, 2013
Under Cold Stone, 2014
Unreasonable Doubt, February 2016
The Klondike Gold Rush Series, published by Dundurn Press:
Gold Digger, 2009
Gold Fever, 2010
Gold Mountain, 2012
Gold Web, 2014
Standalone Novels of Suspense, published by Poisoned Pen Press:
Scare the Light Away, 2005
Burden of Memory, 2006
More Than Sorrow, 2012
Books for Reluctant Readers, published by Rapid Reads (Orca Press)
A Winter Kill, 2012
Juba Good, 2014
Haitian Graves, 2015

Born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Vicki was raised mostly in Ontario. As a young woman, fresh from quitting Carleton University in a huff in the middle of her final year, she travelled to South Africa where she promptly met a man, married him, and produced the aforesaid three daughters. Eleven years later, Vicki returned to Canada. Of her experiences in Africa she will only say that it gave her insight into to the politics of power and oppression that few Canadians get to experience.

Vicki majored in modern history at Carleton University, her interest more in the lives of ordinary women and men and the circumstances of their times than ‘big men’ and their wars. It was on a canoeing trip in Algonquin Park that Vicki, realizing that she was doing for fun what people in the past would have considered a hardship, told her trip mates stories about the incredible difficulties people endured in their attempts to get to the Klondike in search of gold, and the idea for a series of Klondike Gold Rush mysteries was set.

Vicki is the current president of Crime Writers of Canada, and is a member of Capital Crime Writers, and Sisters in Crime


  1. I just bought Rest Ye Murdered Gentlemen and will be buying Booked For Trouble after Christmas. I really liked By Book or By Crook. Thanks for being a guest here, Vicki!

  2. Thanks very much for this, Shelley. Wow, you really did your research!


First in Series- Miss Julia Speaks her Mind by Ann B. Ross

Happy Monday! This week's First in Series is Miss Julia Speaks her Mind by Ann B. Ross Released on August 22, 2000. Seri...