Saturday, February 20, 2016

Leading Ladies of Cozy Mysteries- Theodosia Browning

The Leading Ladies of Cozy Mysteries kicks off today with Theodosia Browning, Owner of Indigo Tea Shop. Tea lovers and cozy mystery readers will love this series. Recipes and Tea Tips can be found at the back of the books.

Charleston's Indigo Tea Shop Owner. Introduced in Death By Darjeeling, book one in the Tea Shop Mystery.

Before the tea shop, Theodosia worked at an advertising agency. Filled with hard work and long hours after 14 years she wanted some that fit her better. More relaxing and fun.
While serving on a pro bono marketing committee for Charleston's annual arts festival, she stumbled on a quirky opportunity. A Little tea shop was up for sale. After a long sleepless night , Theodosia knew what she wanted and was going to go and get it. She took her small savings and put a down payment on the tea shop. She would do everything she could to get it up and running.

She learned everything she needed to about tea and making the business a success. She threw herself into her work and was ready to open. Theodosia hired Drayton Connelly and he became her tea expert. It wasn't long after she opened that she became profitable and a popular tour stop.

When you visit the tea shop you are greeted by her lovable dog Earl Grey. He was a rescue dog, was abandoned and wandering the streets and Theodosia fell in love with him. He is part Dalmation and part Labrador making him a Dalbrador. Theodosia has given him a permanent home and the official greeter of the Indigo Tea Shop.

Find out more about Theodosia Browning in the continuing Tea Shop Mystery Series. 1. Death by Darjeeling
2. Gunpowder Green
3. Shades of Earl Gray
4. The English Breakfast Murder
5. The Jasmine Moon Murder
6. Chamomile Mourning
7. Blood Orange Brewing
8. Dragonwell Dead
9. The Silver Needle Murder
10. Oolong Dead
11. The Teaberry Strangler
12. Scones & Bones
13. Agony of the Leaves
14. Sweet Tea Revenge
15. Steeped in Evil
16. Ming Tea Murder
17. Devonshire Scream

Here is what people are saying about THE TEA SHOP MYSTERIES

Named to the USA Today and New York Times Bestseller Lists

"Childs' plots simmer slowly while Theodosia's dogged yet elegant sleuthing is as satisfying as sipping a cup of jade oolong." --Publishers Weekly

"Literary pick of the week: Laura Childs."

"Delicious recipes, teatime tips, opera, and murder in a national bestselling mystery series that has quickly become a favorite of readers. --Mystery Reader

"Entertainment at its finest, with murder, mystery, and mayhem running through the swiftly turning pages. --Fresh Fiction

"Chock full of intrigue and even voodoo, there are haunted mansions, slimy swamps, stolen jewels, and an old and secret society that meets in the dark of an old dungeon." --Romance Reviews Today

About the Author:

Laura Childs is the New York Times bestselling author of the Tea Shop Mysteries, Scrapbook Mysteries, and Cackleberry Club Mysteries. In her previous life she was CEO/Creative Director of her own marketing firm and authored several screenplays. She is married to a professor of Chinese art history, loves to travel, rides horses, enjoys fund raising for various non-profits, and has two Chinese Shar-Pei dogs.

Laura specializes in cozy mysteries that have the pace of a thriller (a thrillzy!) Her three series are:

The Tea Shop Mysteries - set in the historic district of Charleston and featuring Theodosia Browning, owner of the Indigo Tea Shop. Theodosia is a savvy entrepreneur, and pet mom to service dog Earl Grey. She's also an intelligent, focused amateur sleuth who doesn't rely on coincidences or inept police work to solve crimes. This charming series is highly atmospheric and rife with the history and mystery that is Charleston.

The Scrapbooking Mysteries - a slightly edgier series that take place in New Orleans. The main character, Carmela, owns Memory Mine scrapbooking shop in the French Quarter and is forever getting into trouble with her friend, Ava, who owns the Juju Voodoo shop. New Orleans' spooky above-ground cemeteries, jazz clubs, bayous, and Mardi Gras madness make their presence known here!

The Cackleberry Club Mysteries - set in Kindred, a fictional town in the Midwest. In a rehabbed Spur station, Suzanne, Toni, and Petra, three semi-desperate, forty-plus women have launched the Cackleberry Club. Eggs are the morning specialty here and this cozy cafe even offers a book nook and yarn shop. Business is good but murder could lead to the cafe's undoing! This series offers recipes, knitting, cake decorating, and a dash of spirituality.


  1. I've read all of the books in all three series.
    The tea stories are interesting, I am a card maker so I enjoy the scrapbooking stories, and the crackleberry stories are just fun. Keep on producing these wonderful series.


First in Series- Miss Julia Speaks her Mind by Ann B. Ross

Happy Monday! This week's First in Series is Miss Julia Speaks her Mind by Ann B. Ross Released on August 22, 2000. Seri...